Starfield Early Access

Wondering about the Starfield Early Access period? We’ve put together all of the details, including the Starfield early access time for different time zones, preserving this iconic moment in gaming history.

Starfield Early Access

The Starfield Early Access period has now come to an end and Starfield is now widely available to anyone and everyone. Although we have now passed the Starfield release date, we wanted to preserve all the information on this page for anyone who might be curious about this momentous occasion in future.

If you haven’t already, check to see if your computer will meet the minimum and recommended Starfield system requirements so you can make sure you’re going to be able to play the game when you get it, whether you got in a Starfield pre order, nabbed a collector’s edition, or have just bought the standard version. Be sure to also check out the Starfield controller and headset, if you want to really immerse yourself in this deep space RPG.

Is there a Starfield Early Access?

During the Starfield Direct showcase of June 2023, Bethesda announced that Starfield pre orders and collector’s editions would get five days of Early Access to Starfield and a host of other bonuses if you purchase the Starfield Constellation Edition or Premium Edition, available from the following retailers:

Historically, Bethesda have not released beta, or demo versions of Elder Scrolls or Fallout titles to the general public. There have been some timed console-exclusive releases such as the Skyrim DLC which first released on the Xbox 360 for 30 days before being released to other platforms. This pattern was also seen for Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas. However, when Bethesda arrived at Fallout 4’s DLC, the decision to provide Early Access to Xbox and PC users was not repeated, and the Fallout 4 DLC was released to all consoles at the same time.

Despite this, Starfield launched on all platforms simultaneously, though 5 days of Early Access was available to players who picked up the game on pre order. However, what this spells for Starfield’s future DLC, including the first announced story expansion pack, remains to be seen.

What is the Starfield Early Access time?

The Starfield Early Access period began on September 1, 2023, giving players who pre ordered the premium and collector’s editions of Starfield 5 days of exclusive playtime. These were the times at which Early Access became available in different regions:

  • Pacific Time US – 17:00
  • Central US Time – 19:00
  • Eastern Time US – 20:00
  • United Kingdom – 01:00
  • Europe – 02:00
  • Japan – 09:00
  • Australia – 10:00

If you’re curious how the game begins, check out our Starfield opening pages, originally drawn from the Starfield showcase and previous trailers and now informed by our hands-on experiences. Or, meet Vasco, the first of the many Starfield companions who join you on your journey through JemisonJupiter, and beyond.

Where can I download the Starfield demo?

Should Bethesda release a Starfield demo as well as the Early Access for PC and Xbox, the most likely download locations will be on the Starfield Steam homepage and via the Microsoft store. However, considering the game has now been released, it is unlikely that they will go back and create a demo.

Just make sure you meet the Starfield system requirements and secure your copy of the game (or play Starfield on Game Pass). If you’re already set, check out the Starfield map for locations you want to visit as soon as possible.

Are there any limits to Starfield early access gameplay?

Unlike a demo, with Starfield Early Access players got the full game five days earlier than everyone else. Because of that, there are no limits to early access, so you and Vasco could go straight into adventuring, whether that be a trip to New Atlantis or by getting your teeth into combat with some alien creatures.

More from Starfield Db
Tim has sunk at least a thousand hours into Bethesda games over the years, and has now completed Starfield with over 200 hours in-game. So, if he's not busy updating our Starfield weapons database, he’s eagerly installing the best Starfield mods and DLC, or planning his dream outpost.